Review #29: Laphroaig 15 200th Anniversary

This is a review of Laphroaig 15 200th anniversary edition bottled at 43%. The sample for this review came from a dram I had at a bar in a glencairn.

N: Medicinal but not very smoky, bandages, tire rubber, brine, lemon, oranges, vanilla, dry grass, pine needles.

P: Iodine, ash, vanilla, grilled fruit, salt, orange peel, soft smoke.

F: Medium-long. Smoky fruit notes fade out.

Overall: This is good but I was expecting more. The nose was the best part and then the notes became a little flat on the palate. It has no obvious flaws but was thinner and gentler than I would have liked and I really wonder why they did not bottle this at 48%. Maybe I have been spoiled by some excellent cask strength Laphroaig I have had a chance to try lately but this one fell a little short for me.

Score: 82

Leave a Reply

