Review #21: Strathmill 21 Duncan Taylor Dimensions

This is a review of Strathmill 21 year cask #4239 bottled at 56.1% which is part of the Dimensions series by Duncan Taylor. The sample for this review came from my own bottle.

N: Citrus, malt, honey, butter, grass, some stone fruits begin to appear but I wouldn’t call this fruity. This has a very pleasant but mild nose.

P: Mild again. Barley sugar, lemon, butter, a little grassy and some tart apples, not getting a whole lot more, again it is pleasant though and has a nice mouthfeel.

F: Medium. Sugary cereal notes with some bitter lemon.

Overall: This is a nice but uninteresting malt in my opinion and after trying it I can see why Strathmill is often used in blends. The notes all work nicely together but they were very subtle and I didn’t find a while lot of complexity to this. In a lot of ways it reminds me of a nice grain whisky more than a single malt. I don’t regret buying it because the price was really good for a 21 year old single cask and I think it will make for a nice lighter dram in the summer months but I don’t think I’ll be getting another Strathmill without trying a sample first.

Score: 81

Leave a Reply

