Review #19: Macallan Cask Strength

This is a review of Macallan Cask Strength bottled at 59%. Sample for the review came from a swap I did with /u/TOModera.

N: Rich dried fruits, raisins, baking spices, brown sugar, orange peel, fresh leather. This has depth and is pretty complex. Fresher, sweeter jam notes come after some time in the glass.

P: Rich dry sherry, dark cinnamon chocolate, raisins, slightly earthy, spicy oak, oranges. The flavours are intense and this has a nice thick mouthfeel.

F: Long and warming. Sherry, dark chocolate, fruitcake and some spice.

Overall: I really like this one. It is very complex and rich with a long pleasant finish. At 59% I was expecting more burn but was able to drink it easily at full strength, I feel like you can add some water but its not really needed. The surprise for me was the emergence of the fresher sweet jam note on the nose, it took some time for it to appear but this added some points for me for sure. This is the best Macallan I’ve had to date and I highly recommend it if you get a chance to try it.

Score: 89

Leave a Reply

